Every WhatsApp user urged to change settings today – don't wait to do it | The Sun

WHATSAPP has made it much easier to make your messages vanish.

It's now possible to set default Disappearing Messages for new and existing chats at the same time.

That means you can easily wipe your texts from history automatically.

And it will work across the chats you already have – as well as new conversations you create.

The update was announced in a post to Twitter, where WhatsApp wrote: "Setting Disappearing Messages just got easier!"

Previously you had to turn on Disappearing Messages for individual chats in the app.

Read more on WhatsApp

Look out for NEW WhatsApp alert – it means you’ve made a big mistake

New WhatsApp hack lets you recover DELETED texts – but there’s a catch

But now it's possible to turn them all on with ease.

It's a clever feature: it automatically "unsends" your texts after a certain amount of time.

You can choose either 24 hours, seven days or 90 days.

Any new messages in those chats will delete after the set amount of time.

Most read in Tech

update now

Apple warns of serious iPhone flaw that lets hackers CONTROL your device

RED ALERT

Apple warns MILLIONS of iPhone users to change settings today – it's urgent

You'VE BEEN AD!

Millions of Netflix users warned they could LOSE popular perk

I-SAFE

I'm an iPhone pro – everyone should use my clever safety trick

It adds a fantastic layer of privacy that you should consider turning on immediately.

There are a couple of catches.

Your old messages won't be deleted – the ones you sent before activating the feature.

And it's not watertight either: someone could still save copies of your texts.

There's no way to 100% guarantee someone doesn't save screengrabs or message logs somewhere else.

So if you're nervous about having a record of a text message, consider not sending it in the first place.

How to enable disappearing messages on WhatsApp

First open your WhatsApp chat.

Then tap the contact's name, tap Disappearing Messages, and then choose Continue.

Select the time period.

Choose which chats to enable.

Tap the tick and then select Done.

Read More on The Sun

Why you should NEVER wear flip flops or sandals on a plane

We’re disgusted after AA left us stranded for 24 hours – it was ridiculous

You can disable these settings at any time if you'd rather keep your texts intact.

Just change the setting to Off.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]

    Source: Read Full Article